Trojans and Spartans march in DCC Youth League

Dubai: The Dubai Cricket Council’s (DCC) Under-16 Evolve Youth League has become a huge hit with the tournament starting at the Dubai International Stadium with Trojans and Spartans getting off to winning starts.

This tournament which has been visualised by DCC to give youngsters a stage to display their talent is being contested by four teams — Spartans, Titans, Trojans and Gladiators.

This quick single round-robin league, to be played over 10 days, with the best two teams making the final on May 8 is being sponsored by Evolve Interior Turnkey Solutions.

The tournament has been designed in such a way that each team will have an U-19 player as guest in order to boost their confidence. Matches will be played at the ICC Academy, Dubai Stadium and The 7s ground.

Mohammad Ali Mirza of Spartans hogged the limelight with a brilliant knock of 87. Batting first, Spartans posted 167 for six in 25 overs riding on Mirza’s 87 and M. Rudra’s 45.

Titans were restricted to 105 in 20.3 overs with G. Aditya and K. Nilansh taking three wickets each.

In another match, Gladiators made the mistake of batting first at the Dubai International Stadium against an accurate attack from Rounak Pandey (3-20) and Adithya Shetty (2-8) and Colin Alphonso (2-3) to be bundled out for a paltry 64.

Chasing the score, Trojans lost their opener Thomas Mariadason early but Kai Smith with an unbeaten 42 which contained a six and seven fours and player of the match Rounak (23 n.o) carried their team to easy win in 19.5 overs.

Brief scores: Trojans bt Gladiators by 9 wkts. Gladiators 64 in 19.5 overs (Rounak Pandey 3 for 20, Adithya Shetty 2 for 8, Colin Alphonso 2 for 3) Trojans 69 for 1 in 14 overs (Kai Smith 42 n.o., Rounak Pandey 23 n.o.) Man of the match: Rounak Pandey.

Spartans bt Titans by 62 runs. Spartans 167 for 6 in 25 overs (Muhammad Ali Mirza 87, M. Rudra 45, Raed Ali 24 n.o.; N. Vishnu 3 for 22) Titans 105 in 20.3 overs (V. Vinayak V 35, F. Ahaan 22; G. Aditya 3 for 19, K. Nilansh 3 for 23). Man of the match: Muhammad Ali Mirza.